Lunch, the Musical.

Lunch, the Musical.

A young couple enjoying their lunch after/before a broadway show. They were minding their own business, until some weird guy decided to photograph them through the window. Yes, that weird person is me. They framed themselves so well for me that I had to disturb their meal. I can tell the man is amused by my choice in subjects. I’m not so sure about the lady…
This reminded me of a B&H Video by Jeff Cable. Jeff is a successful events photographer and works for Lexar. In the video he says “Shoot first, plead for forgiveness later.”
This made me think that perhaps an events photographer and a street photographer aren’t too different. One is with permission, the other is usually not. One is an event, the other is finding the eventfulness in the everyday. One benefits from less gear, as the other benefits from the abundance of expensive gear. But what is consistent throughout all forms of photography, is the need for creativity. The need for change, experimentation, and drive. Without these things, all is lost.

Leave a Reply

